Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

How Much Money can you Save Making your Own Baby Food?

So , my last two posts got me to thinking. All these years I have made my own baby foods, so how much money was I really saving?  I decided to make baby foods for a variety of reasons:

1. Cost

Booleansplit/Flickr.com

Baby Food: Copyright:Booleansplit/Flickr.com

2. Healthier

3. Greater Variety of Food Choices

I liked the fact that my children could eat zucchini, various types of squash, and even avocado while other babies were stuck on peas and carrots. But how much money was I really saving? Well there are many variables that we will have to address. First of all, every baby is different, so  it is difficult to get the exact amount of money I would’ve saved by making my own baby food. Secondly, there are 3-4 levels of baby food that babies eat during the first year of life: Stage 1,2,3,&4. All stages cost a bit different and they are different ounces, making it difficult to calculate an average. Thirdly, babies eat baby food for different amounts of time. One baby may start eating jars of baby food at 4 months old and continue eating baby food well past a year, while another may start eating jars of baby food at 6 months of age, only to be on table foods by the time they turn 1. So with all of these variables, I decided to focus on something simple.

In my grocery store a 16 oz bag of frozen peas is 89cents. If you do the math that breaks down to .04cents an ounce. A 2.5 ounce jar of Gerber stage2 peas sells for 0.99cents online, which breaks down to
almost 40 cents an ounce. So on average, my girlfriend spends 10x as much to feed her baby!

So if the average American Baby eats 600 jars of baby food a year, according to www.foodshare.com, then my friend will spend $600/year in baby food, while I will only spend $60! That’s quite a savings! Think of all the things you can do with an extra $540 during the first year of your baby’s life. Start a college fund! Take a small trip! Buy a new wardrobe for YOUR post baby body! The possibilities are endless…hope you enjoyed this!

If you like my blog, check out my website at www.octopusmom.com

Leave a Reply

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 172,175 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

Add to Technorati Favorites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

