Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

I DID IT! Making money from home!

For those of you that read my blog…it has been a while since I last posted. Since then, I have had another baby and gotten a rather successful freelance writing career off the ground. After learning I was pregnant with my 4th baby last February, I knew that I could no longer continue to work as a NICU nurse and stay sane! My family always comes first, so I decided to leave my job and stay at home full time to get the house and the children in order.

BUT….we did need a bit more money each month, so I decided to try and make money from home. Now for all of you stay at home mommies who are looking for a little extra cash each month..you know it isn’t easy. But it can be done. I decided to look inside of myself at my other talents and try to use them to make extra money. I was always a good writer and I loved to write, so it seemed natural that I would try to make money by writing. After I did some research, I realized that while magazine writing was certainly more glamorous, website writing was actually more in demand. I began by writing for Helium.com where I was able to make a little extra money selling articles to websites. After I got my feet wet, I began finding my own websites that needed web content. Soon, I had a little niche of 3-4 paying clients that was making me pretty nice money every month.

After blogging and opening up my own parenting website, a major Baby product manufacturer contacted me about managing their message boards. Now I do that as well. Within one year, I now make as much as a stay at home mommy as I did working as a nurse! Scary but true.

If you want to make extra money as a stay at home mommy…start by looking at your talents. Do you draw, write, play music…what do you enjoy doing? Here are a few ideas to get you started.

  1. Start a pet sitting business. Offer to watch several cats and dogs at the owner’s house each week. You can take your children to let the dogs out, feed them and play with them while their owners are away. My sister did this and made several hundred dollars a month for just a few hours of work!
  2. Watch a few of your friends’ children in your home each week. Instead of having your friends pay a sitter or a daycare, offer to watch their children in your house. You can make pretty good money and even save your friends a bit in the process.
  3. If you like to draw or are an artist, try to start a small art business by offering your talents to small businesses in the area. Small businesses need help designing logos, creating dynamic letter heads and even painting murals on their walls. My doctor’s office hired a freelance artist to create unique pictures for his waiting room.
  4. Start a freelance writing business by writing web content for businesses in your area. By charging a reasonable rate, you can get tons of work for your initial portfolio.
  5. If you love to exercise, why not get certified to teach a spinning class at your favorite gym. Your kids can play in the kids room while you burn off some extra pounds and make a little extra cash in the process.

Share your success stories here…or give us your great idea!

You can check out my parenting website at www.octopusmom.com

3 comments on “I DID IT! Making money from home!

  1. Pingback: Relevant Links

  2. Sarah
    May 3, 2010

    hi octopus mom,

    i found enlightenment after reading your post. i’m glad to have stumbled across your blog/website. first things first, i would like to congratulate you on finding a way to earn that income you need from home. i would really love to have a “career” like yours when i have children in the future. i am not a mother but i am very interested in children’s learning. i am a curriculum planner at a preschool centre.

    may i ask how long it took for you to start up your blog/website to getting freelance assignments or writing for websites? i am unclear of how this whole thing works. how do you search for websites that needs articles and how do you open a website of you own? is it solely managed by you? why are there so many links? for example, the potty training is linked to another page. is that written by you or linked from other webpages?

    i am really interested in writing and illustrating children’s storybooks and i need a platform to advertise my work (perhaps in the future). how does copyright comes into place in the cyber world? also, i have really good ideas on learning experiences for young children; how can i “sell” my ideas to websites?

    i would appreciate if you could advice or share with me your experiences. thank you so much! i would also appreciate if you could email me: sarah.ng.je@gmail.com

    thank you once again!

  3. Lisa Banks
    July 1, 2010

    Hi Bonnie, congratulations! I am so pleased to have found your website and blog – and also be a future client of yours hopefully! As a fellow copywriter and mom, I know how important it is to develop that niche for yourself that lets you take care of your family and stay in a career also, somehow. I’ll be following your stuff from now on. Love your writing talent! Take care and stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2010 by in Just for Fun articles and tagged , , , .

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 174,292 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

Add to Technorati Favorites
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

