Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

Thunder + Lightning= One very tired mommy

Thunder+Lightning= one very tired mommy

Thunder+Lightning= one very tired mommy

Last night it stormed. Not your usual rainstorm that produces a rhythmic pitter patter that is sleep inducing, but rather the Crash-Boom, shake the whole house kind of rainstorm. The first one of my children to become disturbed  by the rainstorm was Aidan, my 4 year old. He trotted down the hallway at 1:00 am sputtering sleepy garbled phrases about the lightning. I cuddled with him in our bed and then carried him down the hallway back to his bedroom at 1:30. At 1:45 (RIGHT as I was falling asleep), my 3 year old daughter, Madeline, cried when the thunder shook the floors.  She crawled in bed with us and  promptly fell asleep in my arms. I faithfully carried her back to bed at 2:00 a.m. I nestled under the covers, convinced that I had tucked them into their beds for the last time, when I heard Madeline cry again. I walked BACK down the hallway and laid with her for a few minutes until it thundered again and I realized that she would not be sleeping in her bed tonight!  So up she went, back into our beds and I tucked her in next to my husband and looked at the clock— 2:40. I laid down with her and briefly fell asleep. Then Ethan started to cry. I looked out the window, cursed the rain, and trotted BACK down the hallway to comfort him. After 15 minutes, he was asleep in his bed and I returned to our bedroom only to realize that I no longer had a spot! I nudged my daughter over and curled up next to her…3:20. I fell asleep. This morning wasn’t my best morning…as you can imagine. Nap time can’t come soon enough.

Thanks and if you like my blog, visit my parenting website www.octopusmom.com or

read my other articles at Associated Content and Subscribe to my feed!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2008 by in Musings and Anecdotes and tagged , , , , , , , .

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 199,118 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Add to Technorati Favorites
