Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

The Eye of God, Irish Spinner, & Weeki Wachee Spring

There are moments in life that take you by surprise. Sometimes when I am surfing the internet I run across an image or two that for whatever reason, take my breath away.  You know what moment when you see a picture and WISH that you had taken it. ..WONDER about the moment, who the people are, what was the situation… Although they have nothing to do with parenting (my usual topic du jour), I just can’t help but share them with everyone. Why I find them intriguing, I do not know. But I hope you enjoy them. Oh and they can all be found in the public domain of wikimedia commons!!

This photo was presumably taken in the 1940’s-1950’s of a woman underwater in what I assume is Weeki Wachee Spring.  There is something about this photo that strikes me….the depth, the aloneness, the fluidity. What do you think?

This photo was taken in the 1890’s of an elderly irish spinner. There is something in her face that I find intense. The harshness of reality is written all over her face, and I sat and wondered what her life might have been like. She seems worn out and sad. The lighting and the mist add a real sense of history to the photo and the sepia tones add nostalgia in my opinion.

This photo circulated around the internet as the EYE of God. Pretty fitting I do believe. It is amazing what things are beyond our realm, what wonders lie beyond our sights. The fact that we can find these things in space is amazing. Maybe it is the eye of God….it sure is beautiful enough to be.

2 comments on “The Eye of God, Irish Spinner, & Weeki Wachee Spring

  1. Jennifer Page
    August 18, 2008

    too much for me

  2. Paul van Aarle
    March 6, 2011

    The floating lady is briljant indeed. Takes my breath away too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2008 by in Just for Fun articles, Musings and Anecdotes and tagged , , , , .

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 197,764 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Add to Technorati Favorites
