Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

Bambi’s Mother Lives: And other lies I am happy to go along with

Last night our 5-year-old son, Aidan watched Bambi for the first time. Since he has never really been interested in watching Bambi before, I was a bit surprised that he put down Star Wars long enough to get interested in it. About halfway through the movie, as you all know, Bambi’s mother is shot and killed by hunters. Aidan; however, was certain that she was alive and that Bambi would find her. Even though I tried to tell him that the hunters had killed her, he didn’t want to hear it. Refused to hear it is more like it.

So I started thinking about it. Even though I always wanted to tell my children the truth about the world and about life, maybe sometimes the truth is a bit too hard to hear. Sometimes, maybe they are just not ready for the truth. Maybe, they need to believe in happy endings, in fairy tales, and magic, even if only for a few years. In time, the harsh realities of life will make themselves known to him, but these childhood years are brief and I don’t mind clinging to them a little longer.

Other lies I am happy to go along with:

  1. Santa Claus IS real
  2. Reindeer really do fly
  3. The Tooth Fairy
  4. Your Toys really Do Talk when you are not there
  5. You are a princess
  6. You can be a jedi when you grow up
  7. Bambi’s mother is still alive

So we watched the movie anxiously waiting for Bambi’s mother to return and I didn’t argue with him. He wanted to believe, needed to believe that Bambi’s mother was still alive and I so I let him. THEN it happened, Bambi met Fauline. The second Aidan saw the female deer he announced proudly,” SEE MOM, I told you that Bambi would find his mother..there she is!” Then he burst into tears and hugged my neck. I understood immediately. He couldn’t bear the thought of Bambi being without his mother any more than he could bear the thought of being without me. I stroked his hair and kissed him—-“Yep Aidan, you’re right…There she is!”

2 comments on “Bambi’s Mother Lives: And other lies I am happy to go along with

  1. Zavier Dominguez
    August 28, 2008

    This is an awesome story. Thanks for sharing this blog post!

  2. monster box
    June 2, 2013

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going
    to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2008 by in Musings and Anecdotes and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 197,764 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Add to Technorati Favorites
