Octopus Mom

Life as a mom who has her hands full

How many children do you want?

I get this question quite a bit…along with the question “are you guys done yet?” My usual response is “no, not yet..I am still waiting to feel done”. This response is usually met by shock and surprise. Anything over the typical 2-3 children is apparantly unsettling to most people. But why? Do they think I am crazy or do they feel guilty for not wanting more of their own? I think you should have as many children as you “feel” like you want and can honestly provide for. Kids don’t need new Nike shoes and trips to Paris, but you shouldn’t live off the state and have 20 kids either. If you can provide a good life for your children and you want 5 or 6 go for it!  If you only want one child and you want to travel go for it! And if you don’t want any children at all, then go for it! Don’t feel pressured to have children if you are not ready or if you really don’t want them…but at the same time..don’t let well meaning friends and family pressure you to “be done’ if you are not ready. Children are a blessing from God no matter what…they are life renewing and they are the future.

So how many children do I want…I don’t know..but I will let you know when I ‘feel’ done!

One comment on “How many children do you want?

  1. andilea
    September 29, 2008

    I agree! I get that all the time too (we have 4), and it is soooo irritating. I guess some people think they have the right to tell you when you should be done, weird really isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2008 by in Musings and Anecdotes and tagged , , , , , , .

Octopus Mom Readers

  • 197,764 hits

RSS Interesting Articles

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Add to Technorati Favorites
